The storm 

There was a big storm coming that day. The weather news was on repeat everywhere. “Be careful, do not stand near windows or anything made of glass.. “

I remembered hurrying up home to my wife. It had been a week since she was sick. She was so weak, she would end up  exhausted in bed before 8 every night. 

“Remain vigilant, the storm will hit the city at 7:30 sharp, do not take on the road or drive. Please unplug all your electronic devices as well, there’s a high risk of lightning… “

I would leave her medicine close to her night stand every morning along with her breakfast and I would get dinner delivered to her at 5pm everyday. I was really worried, I never thought she was bearing such a weak and fragile body. The medicine seems to be effective only throughout the day until 7. After that, she’d have to rest to properly recover from the day strain on her body. 

“If any of you would be in a dangerous situation, do not use your phone. The cables are prone to lightning attacks too… If you think your house is not safe enough, we have many refuge centers-“

Finally, I was home. It was 5:41. I wanted to come early so I could reinforce the house in order to resist the storm. I wish I hadn’t come that early that day. What I saw… My wife… Under a young energetic stud… Making wild love like animals… No wonder her body couldn’t withstand throughout the day. When you undergo such passion, there’s no way you’d be able to stand after. 

“Alert!  Alert!  The storm is about to hit the city! Please take refuge in a safe and secure place.. “

I ran quietly outside. I didn’t let her know I was there. Before that, I took a few pictures, to convince myself that it had happened. My wife really have a lover. My wife is having an affair. I walked aimlessly in the streets until a young civil servant dragged me to a football stadium that had been transformed into a refuge center. As the wind violently hit the stadium, shaking the structure, I wonder if my wife was doing okay. Obviously, they didn’t know about the storm otherwise they wouldn’t still be at it like monkeys so close to the hit time. The night at the center was horrifying between the people’s afraid screams and my torturing thoughts, I never slept. 

In the morning, as the sun was warmly shining over the city and the sirens were louder than the birds, I headed to my workplace, thankfully it was still standing. This same afternoon, I filed for divorce and forwarded the pictures to my attorney. I never went back to my house. Our love was an illusion of mine and I didn’t want to see my depraved wife. 

I transferred to another city and started over there as a widower because I didn’t want to believe that my wife had been playing me for this long.  I prefer to think that she died in the storm. 

#MiracleChallenge : Week – 8

3. Write a Short Story using below three prompt words-

* ROAD     * EFFECTIVE     *  ILLUSION

6 thoughts on “The storm 

  1. Miracle :) says:

    Omg ! What a suspense built story.. The twist and turns was brilliant. Storm, Love for wife, Unfaithful wife. I visualized the scene very clearly. The end was too perfect. I feel sad for that man and I like his character.
    Brilliant use of prompt words. I totally loved your story. Congrats for completing challenge no.3 💐😇

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Miracle :) says:

    Reblogged this on miraclegirlblog and commented:
    Hello Everyone !

    Check out the latest post for ‘Weekly Writing #MiracleChallenge’ Week – 8: https://miraclegirlblog.wordpress.com/2016/08/02/miraclechallenge-week-8-dated-2nd-8th-august-2016/

    Blogger : WhatsGoingOnMyMind (Laylah)

    Story Title : The Storm

    Challenge No : 3

    Challenge : Write a Short Story using below three prompt words-

    * ROAD * EFFECTIVE * ILLUSION

    For those who are new to #MiracleChallenge, every Tuesday morning, I post new Writing prompts for 5 challenges to write Short Story / Tiny Tale/ Poem / Haiku.

    Visit my blog to know the latest writing prompts and the rules to participate in #MiracleChallenge for the week dated from 2nd – 8th August, 2016.
    Yes ! 8th August is the last day for submission.

    To read participant’s submissions for Miracle Challenges, Click Here.

    Kindly, everyone read and inspire each other to write.

    Happy Blogging !

    Enjoy and have fun:)

    From,

    Miracle:)

    (www.miraclegirlblog.wordpress.com)

    Like

Leave a Reply

