I gave my support to the poor

I went to a charity event and gave my support to the poor
I didn’t sign a check or fill an envelope
I didn’t leave an expensive item or buy one for the cause either
I ate talked, drank, welcomed other guests.
I applauded when I should, laugh, smile and frowned when it was needed.
I took pictures to prove I was there and took for others so they could brag about it.
I went to a charity event and gave my support to the poorest by allowing myself to breathe and be normal
Because the poorest one there was probably me
All those kids laughing, crying, working hard to get out of misery is a really sad thing  but feeling is a blessing
And this night to be able to stand out of the shadows and the darkness, to see people supporting each other and to reach out to me without feeling obligated was a great sensation, I must say.
It was selfish and useless that I came but when I went back and stepped into the cold clear night, I felt warm and not lost anymore.
So yes I went to a charity event and gave my support to the poor but received the most support, me, the empty voided heart.

Leave a Reply

