Karma Part 11 – (Roommate’s POV)

Yesterday night, before we went to our bedrooms, my roommate told me that she’d meet me tomorrow morning at the little family park, not too far from our building. She asked me to get things ready there in her behalf because she had to pick up her friend, the one organizing the party. I didn’t mind, I was so excited about this brunch / picnic. It would take this awkward situation with Arnoldo off my mind. I like cooking but I love to manage a grill, it was the best way to spend some time with my dad. We were really close, we used to spend a lot of things together, throwing ball, playing house (he would wear a pink funny hat). My mom died early so it was always me and my dad, he wasn’t overprotective, it was more like I loved to spend time with him. And if dad had a hobby beside baseball, it was his grill. Every friday evening, he’d invite his buddies over and he’d get an excuse to uncover our sophisticated grill in the backyard. The summer of my last college year, I went to volunteer abroad, in a remote poor district in Nicaragua, we helped the people get clean water, teaching the kids, delivering fertilizers and so much more. It was really rewarding and I was looking forward to tell dad all about it. Before we left Managua, the NGO sponsoring us organized a huge farewell party with all the volunteers present in the country, that’s where I met him. I’m not sure which country he came from but this Latin American boy was so charming and I was surprised to feel so sad at the idea of going back home. We exchanged mails and numbers and I took my flight home the next morning.
When I arrived home, dad’s wasn’t there. Because I wanted to surprise him, I didn’t tell him when I’d be coming back so it wasn’t a real shock to get back to an empty house. While I was unpacking, my phone rang and I received the worst news, Dad got a heart attack and was brought up to the hospital. I rushed there and I was told he had got out of surgery but there were no guarantee that he would make it. For the moment, he was stable, I prayed and prayed he would open his and on the third day he did, he looked at me smiled and waved then died. I grieved, moved out of the house -it reminded me too much of him and his devotion for mom, it was just an empty home now-, moved in this apartment. After that so much happened : I got a paid internship, I took in that hard working girl who lived too far from work, my Latin American boyfriend came to the US and moved in with me, got me pregnant and was deported for abuse on me. I got depressed and almost gave up on life.
I gave birth to Daisy and it only worsened, it took me a long therapy and to learn how to take care of Daisy to finally withdraw out of that. After that, I  saw the world in a whole new light, I got promoted, met Arnoldo and love seemed to not be too far. But right now, my feelings for him shattered when I saw my young beautiful roommate open his door on the morning we were supposed to go to the Farmers Market together. The air is still heavy because I couldn’t resolve myself to listen to his explanation, I’m a bit scared it would end with me alone again.
Well whatever, I put on the cutest sunny yellow dress with daisies on my cute baby girl and she responded to me with a big toothless smile. As I headed to the park, it confirmed to me what I already knew long ago. As long as I have my Daisy, nothing will break me.

Leave a Reply

